US Special Forces 2 4:42
The United States Army Special Forces (Special Forces, SF, or Green Berets) are the

foundational branch of the larger elite special operations forces (SOF), which is now

a part of the United States Army Special Operations Command (USASOC), a component of

United States Special Operations Command (USSOCOM).

Special Forces units are tasked with four primary missions: unconventional warfare,

foreign internal defense, special reconnaissance, and direct action. The first two

emphasize language, cultural, and training skills in working with foreign troops.

Other duties include coalition warfare and support, combat search and rescue (CSAR),

security assistance, peacekeeping, humanitarian assistance, humanitarian demining,

counter-terrorism, counter-proliferation, psychological operations, and counter-drug

operations; other components of the United States Special Operations Command or other

U.S. government activities may also specialize in these secondary areas Many of their

operational techniques are classified, but some nonfiction works and doctrinal manuals

are available

Their official motto is De Oppresso Liber (Latin: "To Liberate the Oppressed"), a

reference to one of their primary missions, training and advising foreign indigenous


Currently, Special Forces units are deployed in Operation Iraqi Freedom. They are also

deployed with other SOCOM elements as one of the primary American military forces in

the ongoing War in Afghanistan. As a special operations unit, Special Forces are not

necessarily under the command authority of the ground commanders in those countries.

Instead, while in theatre, SF operators may report directly to United States Central

Command, USSOCOM, or other command authorities.
Submitted by: navyjr
Keywords: special forces ops
Views: 3,335
Comments (0)
Add your comment